| the-scottish-villages.co.uk | | lochinver scotland |

Lochinver Scotland

  |   HOME   |   LOCATION   |   HISTORY   |   FACILITIES   |   CONTACT   |  

Information on the village of Lochinver in Scotland.

Back to: Lochinver News and Calendar


Walks with Highland Ranger Service

Guided Walks in ASSYNT 2014 (a short summary)

Tues 6 May Stac Pollaidh Mountain Walk 11-5pm Stac Pollaidh Car Park off the A835 D Mountain wildlife, geology, superb views.
Thurs 8 May Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-4pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park C Ancient site of meteorite, wildlife, crofting history.
Tues 13 May Drumbeg peat road 11-3pm Drumbeg Viewpoint C Moorland Wildlife, Fascinating History!
Thurs 15 May Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge.
Tues 20 May Glencanisp and River Inver 11-3pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre B River Wildlife, View Highland Clearance village.
Thurs 22 May Bone Caves – Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Reindeer and ring ouzels, polar bears and eagles.
Tues 27 May Bird song at Little Assynt 11-2pm Leitir Easaidh Car Park on the A837 B Learn to recognise birds song in a fun way!
Thurs 29 May Achmelvich Flowers Rock 11-3pm Achmelvich Beach car park C Orchids, geology, marvellous machair.

Tues 3 June Secrets of Glen Leireag 11-3pm Nedd bridge, 3km East of Drumbeg C Moorland wildlife, footsteps of the Ancestors. Thurs 5 June Suilven Mountain walk 9-6pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre D Eagles, ptarmigan, saxifrages and amazing views.
Tues 10 June Bone caves to Traligill Valley 10-6pm Bone Caves Car Park D Secret Caves, Limestone Plants, Waterfalls
Thurs 12 June Bat Evening, Lochinver 9-11pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre A Wild about Bats - Talk and evening walk.
Tues 17 June Drumbeg peat road 11-3pm Drumbeg Viewpoint C Moorland Wildlife, Fascinating History!
Thurs 19 June Bone Caves – Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Reindeer and ring ouzels, polar bears and eagles
Tues 24 June Achmelvich Coastal Walk 11-3pm Achmelvich Beach Car Park C Flowers, Marine Wildlife, all about Assynt
Thurs 26 June Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge.

Tues 1 July Traligill Valley Caves 11-4pm Inchnadamph Car Park C Secret Caves, Limestone Plants, Waterfalls.
Thurs 3 July Reptiles and Amphibians 11-2pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre A Toads, frogs, newts, slow worms and lizards.
Tues 15 July Rockpools at Achmelvich 3:30 - 5 Achmelvich Beach Car Park B Catch a Beastie, Check out a Beastie, let ‘em go.
Wed 16 July Illustrated talk on Otters 7-8pm Assynt Visitor Centre N/A Learn how to look for Otters.
Tues 22 July Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B/C Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge Thurs 24 July Bird song at Little Assynt 11-2pm Leitir Easaidh Car Park on the A837 B Learn to recognise birds song in a fun way!
Tues 29 July Rockpool Adventure Clachtoll 2.30 - 4 Clachtoll Beach Car Park B Catch a Beastie, Check out a Beastie, let ‘em go!
Wed 30 July Illustrated talk on Cetaceans 7-8pm Assynt Visitor Centre Lochinver N/A Whales and Dolphins that occur in Assynt
Thurs 31 July Bone Caves Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Wildlife Ancient and Modern, all very exciting.

Tues 5 Aug Tale of the Snail & the Whale 11-1pm Achmelvich Beach Car Park A Theatre Workshop, families with children 4+.
Thurs 7 Aug Mammals of Assynt 11-3pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre C Check our animal life through Hidden cameras.
Tues 12 Aug Clachtoll Sand Sculpture 12-1.30 Clachtoll Beach Car Park N/A Great prizes for the best sculpture or just watch.
Tues 12 Aug Clachtoll Seashore roadshow 2-4pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park N/A Rockpools, puppets, quizzes, cakes and more.
Thurs 14 Aug Wildlife Crime Scene 11-1pm Woodside car park, Culag wood. A Family adventure for the animal detectives
Tues 19 Aug Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B/C Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge
Thurs 21 Aug Bone Caves – Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Reindeer and ring ouzels, polar bears and eagles Tues 26 Aug Achmelvich Coastal Walk 11-3pm Achmelvich Beach Car Park C Flowers, Marine Wildlife, all about Assynt
Thurs 28 Aug Stac Pollaidh Mountain Walk 11-5pm Stac Pollaidh Car Park off the A835 D Mountain wildlife, geology, superb views.

Tues 2 Sept Glencanisp and River Inver 11-3pm Meet Assynt Visitor Centre C River Wildlife, Highland Clearances.
Thurs 4 Sept Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B/C Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge
Tues 9 Sept Fungi at Culag Woods 11-2pm Woodside car park, near School B Strange but True? Fungi in all their Glory!
Thurs 11 Sept Bone Caves Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Wildlife Ancient and Modern, all very exciting!
Tues 16 Sept Clachtoll Coastal Walk 11-3pm Clachtoll Beach Car Park B/C Sea life, Celtic Broch, Dolphins, Ancient Gunge Thurs18 Sept Fungi at Culag Woods 11-2pm Woodside car park, near School B Strange but True? Fungi in all their Glory!
Tues 23 Sept Bone Caves Really Wild 11-2pm Bone Caves Car Park C Wildlife Ancient and Modern, all very exciting
Thurs 25 Sept Achmelvich Coastal Walk 11-3pm Achmelvich Beach Car Park C Flowers, Marine Wildlife, all about Assynt

All the walks are led by one of the Rangers. It is important though that you think of your own safety and that of any children for whom you are responsible. Remember too that these are country walks in the Highland weather so please dress accordingly. Bring sturdy shoes, or boots, a picnic and a sense of fun. The costs for walks over 3 hours are Adult £5/Concessions £3; under three hours Adults £3/Concessions £2. Family Rates available. Walk Grades: A is easiest, D most challenging, including very rough ground and sometimes steep climbs.

For further information, contact: Highland Council Countryside Rangers, Assynt Visitor Centre, Lochinver IV27 4LX
Telephone: 01571 844654
Email: andy.summers@highland.gov.uk .
To learn more about Assynt please visit:
www.discoverassynt.co.uk

“Please remember Know the Code before you go: Enjoy, Respect and Protect.”www.outdooraccess-scotland.com

Walks with Highland Ranger Service , Scotland